Web Hosting

Hostinger Review 2020: How Good is This Web Host?6 min read

March 26, 2020 5 min read

author:

Hostinger Review 2020: How Good is This Web Host?6 min read

Last Updated on:

Reading Time: 5 minutes

Hostinger corporation first started in 2007 as 000webhost.com, offering free web hosting services before transforming into the hostinger.com version in 2011, when the Hostinger web hosting brand was born.

By May of 2014, they had already achieved a customer user base of over 10 million, and in January of 2017, this had grown to 29 million users.

In this review of Hostinger, we will follow our standardized review process, like looking at important factors, such as the average page load speed from around the world, before summarizing our end result, and giving an experts opinion on the matter.

Quick Overview

Score4.9/5
Speed 620 ms Page load time
Uptime99.93%
Technical Specs100 GB Bandwidth, 10 GB Storage
Website TransferFree Site Transfer
Hosting PlansShared, Cloud, and VPS
AppsWordPress, Joomla, drupal
SupportE-mail, 24/7 Live Chat
PricingStarting at $0.99, Renews at $2.15/mo

Page Load Time

Fast page load times are essential for any website really, especially business ones. We have all noticed how some websites are just really, really slow and how annoying that can be.

Page speed has been a ranking factor on google ever since 2010 and according to Sean Work, 40% of people abandon a website that takes more than 3 seconds to load.

It is simply devastating for your ranking, traffic, not to talk about the user experience if you have slow load times.

We have gone ahead and tested the speed of Hostinger’s website hosting plan from 6 different locations, across the globe:

Location First VisitRepeat Visit
New York, US666 ms551 ms
London, UK488 ms470 ms
Paris, France649 ms480 ms
Amsterdam, NL464 ms427 ms
Tokyo, Japan253 ms235 ms
Warsaw, Poland660 ms588 ms
Madrid, Spain540 ms506 ms

Average Page Load time: 620 ms

This is very impressive page speed load times and according to their wiki, Hostinger has servers located in the USA, Asia, and Europe. What’s more is that all of their servers are connected to a 1000 Mbps connection that ensures maximum performance and stable load times, even during heavy load.

Above Average Uptime: 99.93%

Uptime is among the most important merit when choosing and rating a web host.

We have gone ahead and monitored their uptime during the span of 12 months and Hostinger seems to perform well in this area overall, even though there have been two instances of longer downtime (October, June 2019).

To calculate this percentage into more understandable means, 99.93% uptime means that your website is down on average about 6.48 minutes per month or 13 seconds per day.

Hostinger 12-month average statistical uptime:

  • March 2020 average uptime: 99.97%
  • February 2020 average uptime: 100%
  • January 2020 average uptime: 99.95%
  • December 2019 average uptime 99.97%
  • November 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • October 2019 average uptime: 99.65%
  • September 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • August 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • July 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • June 2019 average uptime: 99.78%
  • May 2019 average uptime: 99.92%
  • April 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • March 2019 average uptime: 100%

Quick information about our monitoring tool:

Our monitoring tool visits the website every minute, every hour, 24/7 a day and reports any downtime before calculating an average at the end of each month. Because of this, we are able to see it’s true uptime, rather than if we just noticed it manually.

30-day Money-back Guarantee

According to Hostinger’s refund policy, they offer a 30-day money-back guarantee on all their payment gateways, excluding cryptocurrency.

This means that you can try them out for 30 days, and if you feel like it is not worth it, or that it didn’t meet your expectations, you can simply request a refund. Although it’s important to be aware that this refund does not apply to all of their add-ons, such as their SSL-certificates, but it does apply to the web hosting plans.

Customer Support

They offer customer support, 24/7 via email and live chat. I felt like trying out their email support to see what their response times and “actually answering the question” abilities were like. I was pleasantly surprised!

Email from leva from Hostinger

My question was how I can choose the server location for my website, and within 5 minutes I got a full response that answered all of my questions. This is a big plus for them. No one wants to keep on nagging someone who’s just beating around the bush.

They even included the IP address of the different servers so if you feel like pinging the server from your PC, you can see what server has the best response time.

Hostinger also has a huge archive of self-help articles, both short and comprehensive. The main categories are as follows:

  • Website
  • Domains
  • General

You can find the articles on their knowledgebase.

Multilingual Support

Hostinger has offices all around the world and supports support cases in several languages.

Live Chat only Available once logged in

The only downside to their support is the way it’s designed. When ordering web hosting from them, it’s not possible to access the live chat. I am used to having a pre-sales chat who can quickly answer all of my questions there and now.

Hostinger’s Pricing & Plan Features

A quick overview of Hostinger’s 3 different web hosting plans and features:

Hostinger has 3 different web hosting plans: Single, Premium, and Business Shared Hosting.

Here is a list of the different features:

Single Shared Hosting:

  • 1 Website
  • 1 Email Account
  • Bandwidth Limited to 100 GB
  • 1X Processing Power & Memory

Premium Shared Hosting:

  • Unlimited Number of Websites
  • Unlimited Email Accounts
  • Unlimited Bandwidth
  • 2X Processing Power & Memory

Business Shared Hosting:

  • All the features in Single & Premium Shared Hosting Plans
  • Daily Backups
  • Free SSL-Certificate
  • 4X Processing Power & Memory

Beware that the renewal pricing is different from what the advertised price on each of the plans as follows:

Single Shared Hosting: $2.15/mo
Premium Shared Hosting: $3.49/mo
Business Shared Hosting: $7.95/mo

Hostinger Pricing

Summary & Do we recommend Hostinger?

Yes, we recommend Hostinger.

Hostinger Summary
+ Uptime over 30 days (99,93%)
+ Average page-load (620 ms)
+ Datacenters in US, EU & Asia
+ 24/7 Live Chat Support
+ Free SSL-Certificate
+ Free Domain
No phone support
Higher Renewal price

Hostinger web hosting services come with great speed and uptime. Furthermore their entry-level plan, Single Shared Hosting starts at just $0.99/mo. Although it comes with limited resources, it’s perfect for any personal website or blog.

Above all, they also have a 30-day money-back guarantee, hence if it doesn’t meet up to your expectations you’re free to cancel the plan with no risk.

Author, web hosting review expert at Hosting Repo and Webbhotell Info

How was your experience?

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of